Whole 30: Day 1!

I’ve decided to embark on the much-needed 30-day journey that is Whole 30. (SO thankful that Kara is doing it with me!)

If you’re unfamiliar with Whole 30, here’s an excerpt from their website: “Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you put an end to unhealthy cravings and habits, restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, and balance your immune system.”

Basically, you can’t eat sugar, dairy, grains, legumes or alcohol for 30 days.

I die.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

BUT my body needs it. Aside from being the “heaviest” I’ve ever been and being shocked when I looked at the “before” pictures I took this morning (#transparency), I know that my body needs a hard reset. Diabetes, CVD and cancer run in my family, and I’m not about to find myself there one day, coyly saying “I wonder what happened?”

I will have known what happened. I’m addicted to food. I can eat my weight in risotto and can cry because of the deliciousness of a chilled glass of wine on a summer evening. It’s an issue. While I normally eat pretty healthy foods (no soda, and I’m more of a salt girl than a sugar girl), I have a hard. time. with portion control. I eat until I’m sick and then am ready to go again an hour later. I mindlessly eat and I eat when I’m bored. Like right now. (Except I’m not eating…bless.)

This is why I’m doing Whole 30. I want a different story with food. I want to love my body because it’s been fortified with good food and because I’m taking care of it–it’s the ONLY. BODY. I. HAVE.

I’ll share meal plans here (see this week’s attached at the end), because I think that’s one of the hardest things. I’ll also share whether or not these 30 days are “more expensive” than a normal 30 days since many people think eating healthy = spending more money. And it might equal that, but I want to see for myself.

I have to believe that this will be good for my body even if the “after” picture looks just the same. Although I might cry if it does. Our bodies are temples and it’s time to treat them as such!

Day 1:

Whole 30 calls this the “What’s the big deal?” day. I can see why–I didn’t really have to alter anything for breakfast (black coffee, bacon, scrambled eggs) or lunch (roast beef slices, cucumber, watermelon, almonds, olives, sweet peppers), but now it’s 3pm and I instinctively want to snack. I’m sitting in my office trying to work on class reading, but I just want a brownie. That’s not the Whole 30 deprivation talking–that’s the relationship I have with food. I’d have wanted that a month ago. SO, instead, I brought a clementine and a Lara bar. I told myself that I could have the orange at 3pm and that I’d have the Lara bar at 4:30. Let me say something: I AM NOT HUNGRY. But I desperately want food. This is a scary highlight of the unhealthy way I see food. I want to eat because I am hungry, not because I am addicted to food.

I’m really looking forward to rewriting my food story and learning to appreciate it when I put food in my mouth.

Here’s this week’s meal plan, attached as a Word doc so you can edit as you like! (Let me know if you see something I accidentally missed that isn’t Whole 30 compliant!):

Meal Planning

 

2 thoughts on “Whole 30: Day 1!

  1. Pingback: Whole 30: Halfway! (Day 15) | Baubles + Bourbon

  2. Pingback: Whole 30: It. is. finished! | Baubles + Bourbon

Leave a Reply

