’14 & ’15 Books

Going into 2014, my sister and I had a goal to read 30 books each. We won’t mention how many she read, but I came in short at 21–and that’s while finishing an English degree!

Anyway, many people have a goal to “read more” at the beginning of the year, SO, I’ve compiled a list of 10 incredible books for different types of readers.

Books are my weakness, you guys. So it’s hard to narrow it down to 10, but, nevertheless, here they are!

Books

For the reader who loves books for kids/young adults:
I know it’s terrible, but this might be my favorite “category”. Finding a great young adult book has been criticized by many a person, but who cares what you read? They’re easy to finish and usually provide a great escape. So, my pick is:

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
This is actually a series of seven small books, and you’ve got to start at the beginning. I never read these as a kid, and I’m actually really thankful for that. I usually plow through these once a year. C.S. Lewis consistently is in the running for my all-time favorite author, and these stories are just so beautiful

For the reader who loves the classics:
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
Ugh. One of my top five favorite books ever. It’s a little dark, but a great relief from all of that Jane Austen.

For the home chef/cook/lover of food:
Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequest
Meant to be read cover to cover first, this has more stories than it does recipes. BUT those stories are so, so good and so are her really simple recipes…I’d suggest the Magical White Bean Soup.

For the reader who likes to read into things:
Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi
Disclaimer: this is kind of a weird book. This is a retelling (of sorts) of the fairy tale Snow White. It’s pretty dark, and highlights racial inequality and beauty standards, but it’s weird enough to love. I really enjoyed it!

For the history buff:
41 by George W. Bush
Put your party lines aside for a hot minute and dive into this book about the 41st president, George H.W. Bush. As the only book written by a president about a president, this tells the beautiful story of one of our nation’s great leaders. ‘W’ throws some digs in here and there about his own presidency, but ignore those and you’ll be fine…and leave in love with the hero that is H.W.

For the reader who loves suspense:
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
I don’t really need to say why, right?

For the reader looking for something different:
White Noise by Don Dellilo
So, I don’t really even know how to describe this book. It was written in 1985 and won the U.S. National Book Award for Fiction. Like the actual white noise, this book kind of just sucks you in. If you read it, I want to know!

For the woman who loves Jesus:
Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge
Okay, so basically if I said you had to read only one of these books, it would be this one. It’s heart changing and you’ll leave feeling like someone finally knows you. Read it. Do it.

For the nonfiction fan:
Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker
I loved her book 7, and Interrupted surpassed that. If you’re *kind of* annoyed with the Church, this book is for. you.

For the memoir fan:
The Lipstick Gospel by Stephanie May Wilson
I’ve been reading Stephanie’s blog for awhile now, and she just wrote her first book, “The Lipstick Gospel: A story about finding God in heartbreak, the Sistine Chapel, and the perfect cappuccino.” Stephanie was a typical sorority girl with no interest in God until she saw a Bible verse written in lipstick on the mirror in one of her sorority sisters’ rooms. Her story is sooooo like many of ours and you’ll feel like you know her. It’s short AND free! Download it here (either on iBooks on your iPhone/iPad or it’ll download as a PDF on your computer): http://stephaniemaywilson.com/download-the-lipstick-gospel/

(And, because I just saw this book on my shelf and LOVED IT: The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy.)

xo, A
PS-, in case you’re wondering, I’ve already got a few books on tap to read in 2015:

Make it Happen by Lara Casey
Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist
Heidi by Johanna Spyri
I Thought It Was Just Me (But it isn’t) by Brene Brown
The Meaning of Marriage by Timothy Keller

Leave a Reply

