Blogging.

Blogging.

While I’m stoked that I got my writing juju back, and I’m really excited to share a guest post from my best friend with you tomorrow, I feel like this month off from writing/blogging has been eye opening.

I follow a few bloggers, and some of them are amazing. But one in particular, that I was originally obsessed with, now leaves me with a bitter taste of “life editing”…this thing we all do (to varying degrees) on social media where we edit our lives to be what we know other people want.

I’m not saying she’s a bad person, I’m just saying she makes it a little too obvious that her lifestyle blog is portrayed through a very fine filter. She’s not real enough for me. And I don’t want to be that.

It’s hard to find the comfortable space between being too filtered and being too open, and I assume that’ll always be the peril of writing about your actual life. That’s where I find myself, and where I’ve found myself over the past month. Questions loom each time I think about blabbering out a new post: Am I being honest? Too honest? Not honest enough? Am I funny? Do people read this? Why do I even care? Is my writing true to me, or a replica of the “best” blogs out there?

The words and feelings I’ve searched for and felt over the past month about blogging publicly are summed up perfectly in these two blogs:
Anne the Adventurer’s “Disenchantment with Blogging”
Darling Magazine’s “Why You Should Start a Blog, Part III”

If you’re a blogger or even read blogs (that’s you, since you’re reading this), you should digest these posts. I bet they’ll speak to you as much as they did to me.

xo, A.

PS–Do you have a blog? I want to read it! Share your link in the comments and I’ll check it out!

PPS–If any of this resonates with you, come back tomorrow. The guest post ironically speaks to all of this and addresses an easy way to help define our identities.

2 thoughts on “Blogging.

  1. I have a blog. I try to be as honest as possible, but I think a lot of the stuff gets edited a little just cause it’s me writing about myself so subconsciously I’m probably not going to make myself look like an idiot.

    Anyway interesting post :-)

    • Couldn’t agree more! I almost want to try to NOT edit and see what I look like :)
      Great blog, especially the post “iTouch But I Can’t Feel”…very insightful & observant.

Leave a Reply

