DIY Sharpie Mugs

IMG_4734

DIY Sharpie mugs are literally everywhere; they’re like the Walmarts of Pinterest. Which, obviously, is why I had to try to make them. Seriously, there are hundreds of DIY tutorials on these bad boys, and I read at least 4 of them which makes me an expert (#kidding). But they’re so easy and made really great Christmas gifts.

Here are the basic talking-points of Sharpie mugs:

  • The cheaper the mug, the better. You want a poor quality mug so that the enamel will melt.
  • Clean mug, clean hands. The oil from your hands can make it difficult for the ink and enamel to bond.
  • Buy a tester mug! Seriously, do it. Try any Sharpie pens, colors, designs, whatever. And then run it through the dishwasher and see what happens, just to make sure.
  • I put two coats of ink on all of my mugs.
  • Put the mugs facing down in the COLD oven. THEN turn it to 425* (yes, I realize most other tutorials say 350).
  • Bake for 30 minutes from the time your “preheated” beeper goes off.
  • Turn the oven off, but LEAVE the mugs in the oven to cool. This will prevent cracking. After about an hour you can crack the oven door to help it cool.
  • Don’t promise your recipients that they’re dishwasher safe, but mine have survived 3 rounds thru the dishwasher and are still alive to tell the story.

I really can’t stress enough the tester mug. I used a fine point Sharpie (not the regular marker) and it came out yellow. YELLOW. And I read a few other blogs who tried red Sharpies and they also came out yellow-ish so you really want to test it first.

IMG_4772

Some ideas for sayings that I came up with/found on Pinterest:

  • Strong coffee for a strong man
  • Though she be but little, she is fierce (Shakespeare)
  • Every love story is beautiful, but ours is my favorite
  • Count your blessings
  • Home is where your mom is
  • She is clothed in strength and dignity (Prov. 31)
  • State outlines (I did this for Matt’s sister and brother in law; they went to UK so I drew an outline of Kentucky and put a heart on Lexington)
  • Names, clip art images, anything! (For Matt’s dad I drew a bike)

These things are just so fun and easy to do! Do you have any other tips//tricks for Sharpie mugs? Fun sayings?

One thought on “DIY Sharpie Mugs

  1. I was the lucky recipient of one of these mugs from DD (Darling Daughter) for Christmas. I use it every single day and think of her when I’m sipping. I wash mine by hand because it is so precious to me. I can’t think of a better gift than one that is handmade and from the heart. I will treasure my mug forever!!

Leave a Reply

