Trader Joe’s Finds

{Disclaimer: If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s in your city, don’t read this post, because you might cry out of jealousy #dontsayididnttellyouso}

My sweet momma got me a $50 gift card to Trader Joe’s for Christmas and today I spent $49.97 of that. #winning

TJ’s can be SUPER overwhelming to me, possibly because our location is so small, and there are tons of TJ diehards that live here (and possibly live there…at the store…). But it’s also really awesome because they have really good wine at really low prices. I don’t think I’ve actually shopped on any aisle besides the wine aisle until today.

But with two winery trips in two weeks, Matt and I did not need more wine (lies). So I avoided the wine aisle and ventured into the wild west. I thought I’d share some of my favorite finds with you, because before now, all of my TJ faves have been simply because I’ve eaten/drank/tried them at someone else’s place.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

{From top left to bottom of this super high quality picture)

1. Trader Joe’s Dried White Peaches // 4.99
My great aunt made homemade dried peaches every summer and my sister and I would eat the heck out of them while swimming in her pool. While they’re not quite the same (these are white peaches, those were…regular? peaches) they’re pretty stinkin close. Not a peach fan? Try these anyway because they’re much milder in flavor. And they’re only 100 calories per serving (1/4 cup).

2. Trader Joe’s Butter Waffle Cookies // 2.79
Holy cow. I don’t really like sweets (Matt would argue with that), but these cookies are seriously amazing and addicting. They’re light and buttery and delicious. I had them first while nannying, and that family kept them in the freezer (so good), but I didn’t do that, mainly because there’s no room in the freezer. Here’s to hoping they stay fresh (and that, out of fear, I don’t just eat them all tonight).

3. Trader Joe’s Buffalo Jerky // 5.99
I love jerky so much it’s scary. My dad makes homemade jerky and I basically dislocate my jaw from chewing so much. Turkey jerky is the new sriracha, but I’m just not a fan. Probably because of my obsession with red meat, but I digress. I first had buffalo when I was in Quebec, and was an instant fan. This jerky is meatier than turkey jerky but milder than beef jerky. So somewhere in the middle. Like all jerkies, it’s high in protein and low in calories/fat.

And then there’s this…Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

The holy grail of grails, the hope diamond of diamonds, the McDonalds french fries of french fries. Meet my new BFF, Trader Joe’s Cold Brew Concentrate. I’ve seen this on a few other blogs, so when I spotted it in a store it was like my little lost child that I never had.

Like most humans, I am sadly addicted to coffee. I must drink (at least) one cup a day. I generally use a French press, not out of snobiness, out of the fact that if I make a normal pot I waste some or overdose on caffeine. But a French press takes forever and you have to hand wash it which makes me want to cry. This magical stuff is just bottled coffee concentrate, made from real coffee and nothing else. It’s 7.99, which I kind of thought was a little expensive, but whatever, it makes my life EASIER therefore it is priceless. This 32oz bottle makes 12, 8-oz cups of coffee. You simply mix 1 part of this coffee juice with 2 parts of milk or water. This elixir of life makes a mean cup of iced coffee, especially if you mix it with something like vanilla almond milk. #nomnom

So, dear friend, do tell…what else am I missing from Trader Joe’s? What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

